World Media Awards 2018

World Media Awards 2018

  • -
  • London, UK

The World Media Awards have been established to demonstrate the effectiveness of cross-platform, cross-border, content-driven advertising. Organised by the World Media Group, with an independent Jury including international advertisers, agency experts, and editorial specialists, the Awards celebrate bold and creative strategies for engaging with international, influential audiences.

The free-to-enter awards are now in their third year and offer the winners the opportunity to be acknowledged as global leaders in international content-led advertising. The WMAs are unique in not only giving recognition of the category winners’ work through the trophy on the night but by also celebrating all winning campaigns in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at €500k.

The winners’ ad campaign runs across leading international media brands The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Time, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Fortune, The Economist, and Bloomberg – all members of the World Media Group which runs the WMAs.

Why enter the World Media Awards?

  1. Demonstrate your capability to deliver great ideas for advertisers with multinational budgets.
  2. Have your work judged by an independent jury of leading advertising clients, agency representatives, and international media owners.
  3. See your work celebrated in an advertising campaign valued at €500K, published by the World Media Group’s leading international media brands.

Entry to the WMAs awards is totally free, although entrants can make a voluntary donation to Reporters Without Borders. All categories can be entered by advertisers and their media, PR and creative agencies while media owners are only permitted to enter two categories directly: Media & Entertainment and Brand/Media Partnership.

Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented in 2017. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is Thursday 25th January 2018. You can find more information about the entry conditions here.

This year there are eight Award categories and a Grand Prix selected by the jury from amongst the category winners, as follows: Financial Services, Travel & Tourism, Technology and Telecoms, Lifestyle, Luxury & Fashion (new), Automotive, Corporate Influencer, Media & Entertainment, and Brand/Media Partnership (new).

“Last year we were delighted to see a significant increase in entries with an impressive array of submissions from all over the world. We were blown away by the quality of entrants who demonstrated to us the power that content has to tell a brand’s story across multiple channels and borders. We hope that in 2018 we will see even more great campaigns from around the world that disrupt and amaze us.”
Emma Winchurch-Beale, President of the World Media Group and International Sales Director at the Washington Post


John Gittings, Chief Strategy Officer, MediaCom;
John Rudaizky, Partner, Global Brand & Marketing Leader, EY;
Arif Durrani, Executive Editor, EMEA, Bloomberg Media Studio;
Jodie Stranger, President Global Network Clients, Publicis Media

Jon Chase, Chair, Media Agencies Council;
Claire Picconet, Communication Group Manager, Hennessy Global;
Neil Wirasinha, SVP International Advertising Media, Universal Pictures, and may others...