World Media Awards 2019

World Media Awards 2019

  • -
  • London, UK

The World Media Awards have been established to demonstrate the effectiveness of cross-platform, cross-border, content-driven advertising. Organised by the World Media Group, with an independent Jury including international advertisers, agency experts, and editorial specialists, the Awards celebrate bold and creative strategies for engaging with international, influential audiences.

The free-to-enter awards are now in their fourth year and offer the winners the opportunity to be acknowledged as global leaders in international content-led advertising.

Entry for the World Media Awards 2019 – the only awards that celebrate the effectiveness of cross-platform, cross-border, content-driven advertising – has opened with the announcement of a brand new category. The new “Content Leadership & Innovation Award” will be awarded to the individual recognized by peers for their talent in creating exemplary content-driven campaigns with brand bravery, creativity, and innovation.

The independent World Media Awards (WMAs) are hosted by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global publishers which aims to promote award-winning journalism and the role of international media. The Awards are unique in that all winners not only walk away with a trophy and kudos on the night but are also featured in a world-wide winners’ ad campaign, valued at €500,000, which runs across member brands comprising The Atlantic, Bloomberg Media Group, The Economist, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Reuters, The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post and Smithsonian Media.

Emma Winchurch-Beale, President of the World Media Group and International Sales Director at the Washington Post commented, “The World Media Awards and World Media Group continue to go from strength to strength. This success stems from the rise in the importance of good quality journalism and the realization that branded content is both elevated and absorbed more when positioned within a contextually relevant environment. Context and trust are essential components that help to both disrupt and engage consumers, who are subjected daily to a blizzard of information.”

The winners at the 2018 WMAs included Grand Prix Winner, Shell, along with The Barilla Foundation, E.on, Hennessy XO, Porsche, UBS, Visit Faroe Islands, and Warner Bros.

Foster Kenny comments, “The World Media Awards are an integral part of the advertising industry calendar and they continue to adapt and innovate to reflect the rising importance of content in the advertising armoury. I’m excited about the Content Leadership & Innovation Award as creating cross-border content campaigns is not easy. Those who excel at managing the complexities of multiple markets to create something that connects with, what can be, extremely different audiences, deserve to get recognition.”

This year there are nine Award categories and a Grand Prix selected by the jury from amongst the category winners, as follows:

  • Financial Services
  • Travel & Tourism
  • Technology and Telecoms
  • Lifestyle, Luxury & Fashion
  • Automotive
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Media & Entertainment
  • Brand/Media Partnership
  • Content Leadership & Innovation Award (NEW)


Co-chairs Caroline Foster Kenny, CEO EMEA at IPG Mediabrands and Jim Piercy, Creative Director, Custom Studios EMEA/Asia at DOW Jones; and many others...